The Board's mission is to safeguard Trust Funds and Trust Lands for the benefit of all of Wisconsin’s citizens. 

The mission of the Board of Commissioners of Public Lands, Wisconsin’s oldest state agency, is to manage Trust assets to realize the maximum benefit for Trust beneficiaries. The direct beneficiaries of the largest Trust Fund are the state’s K-12 public school libraries, which receive most of the Trust’s earnings. All Wisconsin citizens benefit from the agency’s responsible stewardship of Trust Lands and investments, which promote education, economic development, and the environment. 


Since 1848, the Board of Commissioners of Pu​blic Lands has consisted of three elected state officers: the Secretary of State, State Treasurer, and Attorney General.

Current Board members are:

​Sarah Godlewski
​Secretary of State
​John Leiber
State Treasurer
​Joshua L. Kaul
Attorney General


​   B​i​o
​   Contact Information
    ​Co​ntact Information  
​  Con​tact Information